Understanding Logix 500 tags with panelview plus HMI

psycho1o1

I am working with a Micrologix 1400 and a PanelView plus Compact HMI. There are some HMI tags that are present in the HMI that is actively using following tags but I cant seems to find those tags in PLC logic. I am new to these plc and HMI and I will appreciate any help. Thank you

What is the diffarnce between addressing a tag like this [SPMXR]B12/0 vs
::[SPMXR]B12/380
1.png

2.png

To answer your question "why is this decimal while the HMI tag is digital (boolean)" -- it is decimal because you have decimal selected to display it in. If you want it to show in boolean, use the Radix dropdown and select that.

By having the Radix as decimal, you view the data file as words rather than individual bits. Depending on what you use the data file for this may be desirable.

To answer your question "why is this decimal while the HMI tag is digital (boolean)" -- it is decimal because you have decimal selected to display it in. If you want it to show in boolean, use the Radix dropdown and select that.

By having the Radix as decimal, you view the data file as words rather than individual bits. Depending on what you use the data file for this may be desirable.
Thank you for replying. But there is no B12/0 on Binary radix. Its B12:0/1 to 16. The HMI tags mentioned uses Binary.

Thank you for replying. But there is no B12/0 on Binary radix. Its B12:0/1 to 16. The HMI tags mentioned uses Binary.
What I want to do is that use above mentioned boolean variable in the HMI as a XIC in the PLC program to do some logic. That HMI variable has to be a boolan because its used as a multistate indicator using following logic to get state 1, 2 and 3.
"{M871_ON_IN_MANUAL} + ({M871_ON_IN_AUTO}*2) + ({M871_IN_ALARM}*3)"
3.png

B12/0 is the first bit in the file. B12:0/0 is the first bit in the first word in the file. They are different ways of addressing the same bit.