Siemens 505 Illogical ladder

Wootts

Hi guys, first time posting on this site. I'm a Maintenance Electrician and am having trouble understanding some ladder logic on one of our printing presses. The issue is they are using internal coils with the same address on multiple runs of logic. The way I understand this type of programming is the last coil scanned in the program will be the state of all associated bits at the start of the next scan. But when we are monitoring the program online we can never see the internal coil change states. but the outputs that the internal coil is controlling do go high. The rung appears to be in a illogical state. Is it just that we can never see the change in state of the internal coil as it happens multiple times every scan?

Internal coil C1821/C1822 is the one being used in multiple rungs.

Output Y137/Y138 Is high Even though coils C1821/22 display low

plc.jpg

Last edited:
So, are you outputs used in more than one place as well?

Because yes, W/ that processor, it will scan the entire ladder, last output state wins(disregarding SFP here for a moment, as they could be used there too) and THEN the I/O table gets updated.

The outputs are not used in any other location. Everything is working on the machine just trying to grasp the program. So even though the internal coil shows itself as OFF in the ladder and data window, the output will remain on as long as the state of the internal coil preceding it is high?

Sorry, mis read your response. You're saying that the output tables are only updated after the entire program is read. So unless these outputs are used in a SF that rung of logic does not make sense to me

Only if there was another rung of ladder(or SFP) that was evaluating true and setting the output coils later in the program.

If it is JUST those 2 rungs, Those coils should not be energized unless they are forced somewhere.

Edit: Yep!