FIFO Load/Unload

TCL28

I am new to RS Logix 5 - can anyone help me with a little example of a FIFL and FIFU code. When I make an input I want to capture the data and put it in a FIFO. I followed the example in the help but my data only seems to load in one bit one time.

Thanks,

TCL

PS - I searched this site for FIFO questions but I could not find anything but I apologize in advance if this is a repeat.

FIFO stacks load and unload words, not bits. Hopefully that's what you meant. And they do that one at a time, not in bulk.What exactly are you trying to do?

I am trying to capture the number of seconds and a time stamp on when a certain input it turned on and off. Like a detailed histogram. I want to move the time and number of seconds the input was on into a small FIFO of about 10 places since this input is usually only switched on 5-8 times a day. At the end of the day I will write the information in my excel spreadsheet for trending and start over the next day.

Thanks for the help,

TCL

You'll have to capture the time, hour/minute/second, and each part of the time will be a word; one word for hour, one for min., etc. I take it your elapsed time in secs comes from a timer? If so, that data will have to be captured, before the timer resets, and moved into a word as well. Now you have four words. You'd probably be better of using several COP instruction rungs versus FIFO stacks (actually you'd need four stacks).

Good luck

Last edited: