Enable signals

Pablo Escobar

I have to carry out a programming where I have some valves and it has to meet these requirements:

If the OPEN button is energized and the RETRO signal is energized, it goes to OUT
If the OPEN button is energized and the RETRO signal is not energized, it goes to FAULT

My question is, does anyone know how I can make the RETRO signal meet these characteristics?

I'm new to programming and I don't know much, I also don't know if I explained myself well haha.

I hope you can help me.

A lot more information would be helpful, like is this valve single acting or double acting i.e. is it a pulse & opens the valve & it stays (due to the nature of the valve i.e. pulse on pulse off) or is it a single acting one where the output to the valve needs to be latched in i.e. output stays on to keep the valve open.
What happens if the retro signal goes off does the valve stay open or should it close & alarm ?.
Attached is a simple idea it assumes the valve output needs to be on for it to stay open, if the retro signal goes off the valve closes but does not alarm the alarm is latched so it can be seen by ther operator.

Valve.png

It appears that OPEN and RETRO are input signals to the PLC, and OUT and FAULT are output signals from the PLC. So if we assume the variable name (e.g. OPEN) is a proxy for the 1 (energized) or 0 (not energized) state of each input, then
Code:
     OUT <= OPEN AND RETRO;

FAULT <= OPEN AND NOT RETRO;

where:

"<=" assigns the evaluation of the expression on the right
        as the value of the variable on the left.

";" terminates a statement

also:

1 <= NOT 0;
  0 <= NOT 1;

0 <= 0 AND 0;
  0 <= 0 AND 1;
  0 <= 1 AND 0;
  1 <= 1 AND 1;
Does that describe how you think your process should behave?

Brian: you have been up too long the OP states a button to open the valve & alarm if button pressed & not Retro (what ever that is?).