1747-UIC, DH+, RSView, SLC, Tags

My company has recently brought a new laptop for me without a serial port.

I have purchased a USB to DH485 Interface Converter to try and use as the missing port. Recommended by Rockwell.

I cannot seem to set it up to work in the desired way.

What the aim of this all is, is to gain access to the tags within an SLC 5/04 via RSView studio & serial.

I can connect to the processor via DH+, but I have very little experience in this area, and i'm not sure how I could access the tags via DH+.

The question now being, can anyone tell me how to either setup the 1747-UIC to act as a RS232 device or can anyone tell me how I can access the PLC tags via DH+ and view them in RSView.

A very scetchy description I know, but I'm doing my best.

The SLC isn't going to have any "TAGS", just memory locations. ie N7:10, B3:0/1 etc..

The Tag database will be within RSView,
each "TAG" will be associated with a plc memory location.

Okay. I understand what your saying. I didnt word my post correctly.

Since the post I have managed to get the device almost working. It is acting in the way I want it too. I have setup my communication in RSView to use DF1. I have then setup a topic and pointed it at the processor.

When I now go to connections of a item (say string display) in RSVIew and refresh the folder I get a new folder which is my topic, with two sub folders (Diagnostics & Online) but it isnt displaying the registers in the processor.

So im almost there but not quite. Can you perhaps tell me why they are not displayed???

I guess that it is possible to get the 1747-UIC to function as a regular USB/serial converter.

But why not go get a real regular USB/serial converter. The one I got only cost me around 20 EUROs. Works fine with DF1.

edit: Oh, your second post seems to indicate that you have gotten past the problem of getting the UIC to work with DF1.
Are you sure that the UIC is really online with the SLC5/04 ?
Can you go online with RSLogix ?