You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old February 24th, 2009, 10:23 AM   #1
HOTRIDER183
Member
Australia

HOTRIDER183 is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: CAIRNS
Posts: 13
Angry Help with slc 500 /04 fault light

I have a slc 500 that wont communicate with rslinx & rslogix 500 i have reset the cpu to defult settings and also reset the cpu but the red fault light still flashes & i canot get comms to note book but i was able to in the past? Could it be settings or software problems? I have changed over the rack & the cpu but still no go? Can any one help me?
  Reply With Quote
Old February 24th, 2009, 10:55 AM   #2
vernon1
Member
United Kingdom

vernon1 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: WEST MIDLANDS
Posts: 60
How are you trying to communicate,DH+ / RS 232 DF1 ?

Can you see the PLC in RS Linx.

What is exact AB part number of 504 ?

What versions of RS Logix / Linx do you have ?

Do I understand you properly when you say you have swapped the processor ?
__________________
vern1
  Reply With Quote
Old February 24th, 2009, 11:38 AM   #3
HOTRIDER183
Member
Australia

HOTRIDER183 is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: CAIRNS
Posts: 13
I will have to check the version but it is "lite" & the plc has a read cross over it in rs linx wich means no comms, i am usin the a/b usb - rs232 converter with cable to conect to it, yes i have tryed to swap the processor.
  Reply With Quote
Old February 24th, 2009, 12:02 PM   #4
Mickey
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

Mickey is offline
 
Mickey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Palmdale,Ca
Posts: 8,462
Power Supply?
__________________
Mickey

If you want happiness for an hour-take a nap. If you want happiness for a day-go fishing. If you want happiness for a month-getmarried. If you want happiness for a year-inherit a fortune. If you want happiness for a lifetime-help someone else.
----- Chinese Proverb
  Reply With Quote
Old February 24th, 2009, 12:10 PM   #5
HOTRIDER183
Member
Australia

HOTRIDER183 is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: CAIRNS
Posts: 13
Sorry yea i have 3 spars and i tried them all.
  Reply With Quote
Old February 24th, 2009, 12:45 PM   #6
Sparhawk
Member
United States

Sparhawk is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Indiana
Posts: 41
The usb adaptors can be a pain. I have ran into this many times.

Red fault lite flashing, you are probably back to default program, in other words, nothing in the CPU.

What are yout settings in RSLinx?

Check on the default comms for a 5/04. I believe it is
DF1 rs232
SLC CH0
19200
CRC error checking I believe the USB adaptor only works with CRC, won't swear to that.
and of course make sure your on the right com port.

you may have to delete your old driver, then shut down RsLinx before creating a new driver. seems to work better that way.



If you upgrade to the most current RsLinx lite, 2.54, it can do an auto configure for you, it's a free upgrade.
  Reply With Quote
Old February 24th, 2009, 08:41 PM   #7
HOTRIDER183
Member
Australia

HOTRIDER183 is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: CAIRNS
Posts: 13
When i run auto config in rs linx failed to find baud rate & party check all cabels & switch settings? Can any one help with this error?
  Reply With Quote
Old February 24th, 2009, 08:50 PM   #8
HOTRIDER183
Member
Australia

HOTRIDER183 is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: CAIRNS
Posts: 13
Could it be my a-b rs232 converter - usb?
  Reply With Quote
Old February 24th, 2009, 09:49 PM   #9
Mickey
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

Mickey is offline
 
Mickey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Palmdale,Ca
Posts: 8,462
Yes, all things are possible. Whats the catalog number of your adapter? See link below for one that most agree works well.

http://www.plctrainer.net/
__________________
Mickey

If you want happiness for an hour-take a nap. If you want happiness for a day-go fishing. If you want happiness for a month-getmarried. If you want happiness for a year-inherit a fortune. If you want happiness for a lifetime-help someone else.
----- Chinese Proverb
  Reply With Quote
Old February 24th, 2009, 11:49 PM   #10
HOTRIDER183
Member
Australia

HOTRIDER183 is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: CAIRNS
Posts: 13
I am using a ab_df1-1 driver for the usb (df1) cat: 1747-uic and the ok light is on but no usb light? Is it the converter or somthing els stoping communications, when i click auto config the error that comes up is "failed to find baud rate & party! Check all cabels & switches? Can anyone help?
  Reply With Quote
Old February 24th, 2009, 11:59 PM   #11
Mickey
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

Mickey is offline
 
Mickey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Palmdale,Ca
Posts: 8,462
The 1747-UIC is a USB to DH485 converter. The serial port on your SLC5/04 would have to be configured for DH485 protocol for it to work.
The adapter USB to Serial (RS232) you need for a port configured for DF1 is the one I reference above ("Keyspan" brand).
__________________
Mickey

If you want happiness for an hour-take a nap. If you want happiness for a day-go fishing. If you want happiness for a month-getmarried. If you want happiness for a year-inherit a fortune. If you want happiness for a lifetime-help someone else.
----- Chinese Proverb
  Reply With Quote
Old February 25th, 2009, 12:01 AM   #12
HOTRIDER183
Member
Australia

HOTRIDER183 is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: CAIRNS
Posts: 13
The driver for windows in device manager is usb dh-485 serial port (com8)is that a problem?
  Reply With Quote
Old February 25th, 2009, 12:06 AM   #13
Mickey
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

Mickey is offline
 
Mickey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Palmdale,Ca
Posts: 8,462
No that is not the problem. If you have a SLC5/04 that is at its default condition, which is serial port configured for DF1 protocol then the adapter above (1747-UIC) will not work. See PDF below for more info on it.

http://literature.rockwellautomation...n063_-en-p.pdf
Attached Files
File Type: pdf 1747UICProfile_1.pdf (231.1 KB, 10 views)
__________________
Mickey

If you want happiness for an hour-take a nap. If you want happiness for a day-go fishing. If you want happiness for a month-getmarried. If you want happiness for a year-inherit a fortune. If you want happiness for a lifetime-help someone else.
----- Chinese Proverb

Last edited by Mickey; February 25th, 2009 at 12:15 AM.
  Reply With Quote
Old February 25th, 2009, 12:20 AM   #14
HOTRIDER183
Member
Australia

HOTRIDER183 is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: CAIRNS
Posts: 13
I think i might have to use a computer with an rs232 port or get another usb-serial converter to get it to communicate?
  Reply With Quote
Old February 25th, 2009, 01:12 AM   #15
HOTRIDER183
Member
Australia

HOTRIDER183 is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: CAIRNS
Posts: 13
Thanks guys for your support i ended up using a prolific usb-serial converter that i had floating around & got a driver off the web and conected and re loaded program all good! Thanks all!
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
All the light on s7-400 panel flashing leon.LEE LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 2 January 8th, 2009 10:06 AM
RSLogix User Fault Routine jthornton LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 17 October 23rd, 2008 02:55 PM
Dead SLC 500 5/04 DFJ LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 5 September 28th, 2005 11:49 PM
Slc 500 cpu fault superdave LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 8 September 23rd, 2005 08:09 AM
SLC 500 intermittently faulting brijacq LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 3 October 8th, 2002 04:50 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:42 AM.


.