PLC Code Motor Staggering

jperiera

Hello and Thank you in advance. I am relatively new to PLC and I was just encountered with a code issue that has kept me from advancing in my project.

I have a generator power control system that starts 6 motors. Motors will come ON and OFF at random due to control requirements. I am trying to write code to delay the start of any motor anywhere from 3 to 7 seconds from the time the last motor that started.

Using ML1400

Thanks

One of many possible ways to skin this cat

Is the delay time for each motor different? Or, variable? Or, will all delays be for the same time?

When a motor comes on use a one-shot to latch a bit in a binary word. Each motor will have its own bit assigned. As one of the conditions of starting a motor compare the value in the WORD containing the bit to zero. If EQU, it's OK to start.

Lower down in the logic add rungs to:
  1. Compare the binary word to zero. If GRT, start a TON.
  2. When the timer is done CLR the binary word. This will reenable the start circuit.
No matter which motor is started the value in the binary word will be greater than zero. With the correct logic added

What I did for a cycle starting of 6 HVAC units was program a one minute looping timer, them using the LIM command let one motor start at its own window of the timer.

The first motor would only start between the time of 0.1 to 5.0 seconds on the loop, 5 second pause then motor 2 would start from 10.1 to 15 seconds.

This would cause a longer delay sometimes, but not over 55 seconds from motor call to actual start.

Aabeck the only issue with your system is that I do not have a predetermined start sequence. Any motor can come ON at any given time I just need to make sure that once one more comes ON no other motor will come ON after a specific delay.

Thank you very much