Rsview

jonjon

Hello guys!!!

I am new in the advanced technology of PLC. In my previous employer were using handheld programmer (CONSOLE) w/ pnemonic program. But now in my new job were using RSVIEW/MAGNETEK DRIVES/INDUSTRIAL PC/WAGO MODULES/SERVO DRIVES/ORMEC CONTROLLER ETC.

Some one help me to explain, How they communicating each other?
What is RSVIEW works for?
HUH!!!!! Am I correct w/ my Q?

Pls help me to understand this things.

Thanks in Advance.
Jonjon

Sounds like you've got a control system with a lot of nodes on some type of network. RSView is the thing that brings all information from/to all the nodes together. It is an operator interface program. RSview32 Works is the stuff you need to configure the operator interface. I think you could run the application without works, though.

If you open works, look under the system folder and click the nodes icon, you can find out how all the things talk to RSView. Each node will be configured there. Double click one. It will point you to a channel. Then look at that channel configuration for the comms setup.

RSView communicates to an OPC server, which is what does the actually communicating.

The usual OPC server for RSView is RSLinx. But I'm not aware that RSLinx has any drivers to talk to any of the devices you listed.

So you are either using a third-party OPC sever (such as KEPWare) or there is a Allen-Bradley PLC in the middle somewhere that's doing the communicating/controlling that haven't told us about.

There are two "flavors" to RSView - 'Works' and 'Runtime'. 'Works' is the developement environment (although it can also be runtime). 'Runtime' is purely a visualization environment.

Thanks guys!!!!!!!

So, the RSVIEW is tasking the controllers (magnetek/wago etc) when operators touch some icons. And each icons has a tags, same like the microsoft access?

Magnetek and Ormec has a separate program on each self?