You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old January 29th, 2004, 07:35 AM   #1
weekev
Member
Ireland

weekev is offline
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 42
Rslinx as IO server for Intouch

Has anybody used Rslinx pro as the IO server for Intouch rather
than a Wonderware product.

I've read up the wonderware site but talk about using Rslinx
as "middleware" , surely I can use Rslinx as an OPC server direct to
intouch , without having to use something else inbetween ?

If anyones done it, please send quick instructions for same

thanks in advance
Wee kev
  Reply With Quote
Old January 29th, 2004, 08:15 AM   #2
akreel
Member
United States

akreel is offline
 
akreel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Posts: 1,172
I thought OPC was OPC, regardless of the software. I've seen enough cases to believe that it's true.

Are you having trouble setting up your system, or are you asking this question to help you make your purchasing decision?

AK
  Reply With Quote
Old January 29th, 2004, 08:21 AM   #3
weekev
Member
Ireland

weekev is offline
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 42
Rslinx as server

I've got Rslinx Pro already, I also have Intouch and the
box od IO server CDs'

But I'm hoping to use RSlinx only as the main IO server
for intouch, with Rslinx loking after all the differing drivers
use already in the plant, eth, DH etc rather than configuring several different io servers from Wonderware.
i.e. Rslinx looks after all the routing etc Intouch just needs
a topic name .... I hope
Thats my question , if Rslinx is a true OPC server and Intouch
is a true ORC client , why should I need anything else.
But what exactly is involved to get intouch to read directly from
RsLinx ?
  Reply With Quote
Old January 29th, 2004, 08:55 AM   #4
Jezz
Member
United Kingdom

Jezz is offline
 
Jezz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 374
I've used RSLinx as an I/O server for InTouch, on a demo set up for the managers on site, I just set the topics in RSLinx to link to some PLC's on a DH485 network and then configured the acess names to look at the relevent topics, had no problems .
Jezz
  Reply With Quote
Old January 29th, 2004, 09:16 AM   #5
kamenges
Member
United States

kamenges is offline
 
kamenges's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Brillion, WI
Posts: 3,161
I agree with Jezz. RSLinx Pro has an OPC server built in. That's all you need. I didn't personally set it up but the company I work for recently did a Wonderware / RSLinx / SLC505 setup. As Jezz said, once you set up your topic and access names you should be golden. At least that's how it worked for us.

Keith
  Reply With Quote
Old January 29th, 2004, 11:15 AM   #6
PhilipW
Member
New Zealand

PhilipW is offline
 
PhilipW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Wellington, New Zealand. Islands on the edge of the world.
Posts: 923
The Wonderware literature on this topic of drivers to AB hardware shows about five different dirver options for various system configurations, RSLinx being one of them, and the others being I assume lower cost Wonderware drivers.

Wonderware would sooner you buy their drivers than Rockwell's so they somewhat offhandedly refer to RSLinx as "middleware", whereas of course all comms driver packages are middleware, whether this is done explicitly or not.

What they also don't make obvious is that RSLinx will do in one package everything that all of their own drivers will do, plus make it easy to run RSLogix on the same PC if needed.

Get the right version of RSlinx. Many folk have bought the full RSLinx Pro, when all they needed was the single node version to talk to a single PLC
  Reply With Quote
Old January 29th, 2004, 02:06 PM   #7
guest
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
RSlinx can be used with Wonderware.
Remeber that WW is DDE based.
So unless you use the OPCLink I/O server in between WW and RSLinx, you will be doing DDE.

For the DDE connect, just configure the access name for the App. RSlinx and the correct topic
  Reply With Quote
Old January 29th, 2004, 03:15 PM   #8
Beryl
Member
United States

Beryl is offline
 
Beryl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Boise, ID
Posts: 118
I have used linx and WW together in the past with great success but I have a new project and would like to know why I need to purchase two Linx packages if WW has something else that works just as good.

  Reply With Quote
Old January 30th, 2004, 03:42 AM   #9
weekev
Member
Ireland

weekev is offline
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 42
RSLINX as io Server

Good news , I got it working.
All I was doing wrong was not setting the DDEshare and trusting it
on the local machine running Linx.

thanks to all , anyway.
  Reply With Quote
Old January 26th, 2007, 10:21 AM   #10
SCRUFF
Member
United States

SCRUFF is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 14
I can sure use your help! I am trying to use RSLinx as my I/O server to wonderware.

I have the following: RSLinx OEM V2.42 Build 18
RSLogix 5000 Version 12.03.00
InTouch Wonderware V9.0

My situation is that the plant had an HMI running the above and then the hard drive crashed leaving the HMI totally useless. Hard Drive was fubarred! Thus, got a new hard drive installed all software and do not know where to begin from there for I was not part of the initial HMI setup.

Can anyone PLEASE HELP ME on getting this HMI up and talking to the PLC
  Reply With Quote
Old January 26th, 2007, 10:48 AM   #11
curlyandshemp
Lifetime Supporting Member
Canada

curlyandshemp is offline
 
curlyandshemp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,706
Quote:
Originally Posted by SCRUFF
I can sure use your help! I am trying to use RSLinx as my I/O server to wonderware.

I have the following: RSLinx OEM V2.42 Build 18
RSLogix 5000 Version 12.03.00
InTouch Wonderware V9.0

My situation is that the plant had an HMI running the above and then the hard drive crashed leaving the HMI totally useless. Hard Drive was fubarred! Thus, got a new hard drive installed all software and do not know where to begin from there for I was not part of the initial HMI setup.

Can anyone PLEASE HELP ME on getting this HMI up and talking to the PLC
There is a help file available



Ian
__________________
Work to Ride,
Then Ride to Work

I would rather have a bottle in front of me..
than to have a frontal lobotomy
  Reply With Quote
Old January 26th, 2007, 12:09 PM   #12
OZEE
Member
United States

OZEE is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Kansas
Posts: 1,695
You probably should have started a new thread instead of resurrecting this 'ancient" one...

Anyway - the biggest thing you're going to have to deal with is re-authorizing the RSLinx. You may very well have to work with your Rockwell Software rep to make that happen.

After that, you'll need to reestablish the proper Topic Configuration in Linx to point to the PLC. You'll need to know the TOPIC name for the Access Name in WonderWare. This is covered in the RSLinx Help files.

If you need specific help, I can help -- I have several apps set up exactly this way.
  Reply With Quote
Old January 26th, 2007, 01:25 PM   #13
doug2
Member
United States

doug2 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: California
Posts: 180
Why haven't you looked into ww's free dasabcip server. works great with 5k.
  Reply With Quote
Old January 26th, 2007, 02:18 PM   #14
SCRUFF
Member
United States

SCRUFF is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 14
Don't know how to set it up???
  Reply With Quote
Old January 26th, 2007, 02:22 PM   #15
doug2
Member
United States

doug2 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: California
Posts: 180
theres a help file that comes with it that walks you through the setup. it is very straight forward.
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wonderware ABKF2 IO server ettikudiappan LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 7 April 15th, 2008 06:28 PM
RSLinx and Terminal Server averellen LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 2 August 19th, 2004 10:54 AM
Experion DCS Redundant Server License bigmark LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 0 April 29th, 2004 02:59 AM
Writing to bits within Micrologix Long (L) in RSLinx OPC Server elguapotain LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 0 February 13th, 2004 02:47 PM
Prolem with DDE topic with RSlinx DDE Server vibhor LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 2 July 9th, 2003 07:16 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:24 PM.


.